Oilers’ Leon Draisaitl earns 2020 Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award


Fresh off a dominant 110-point campaign that saw him net the Art Ross Trophy as the league’s leading scorer, Edmonton Oilers star Leon Draisaitl has been named the winner of both the 2019-20 season’s Hart Memorial Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award.

The pair of honours make Draisaitl the league’s MVP in the eyes of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, and the NHL’s most outstanding player according to his fellow players, respectively.

In both award races, Draisaitl beat out Nathan MacKinnon and Artemi Panarin.

Draisaitl’s sterling season was the second 100-point effort of his career, and the only 100-point showing of any player during this COVID-19-shortened season.

Already the first German player to ever win an NHL scoring title, Draisaitl is now the first of his countrymen to earn either the Ted Lindsay or Hart Trophy, too.

He joins former NBA star Dirk Nowitzki as the only German-born players who have earned MVP honours in one of the four major North American professional sports leagues.